Diversity Commission - Edinboro University

          Contact Info

          Office of Social Equity
          Reeder Hall, 3rd Floor
          219 Meadville Street
          Edinboro, PA  16444
          Phone: (814) 732-2167
          Fax: (814) 732-2153
          Email: equalopportunity@edinboro.edu

          Terrence A. Mitchell 
          Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer 
          Office: Reeder Hall 306 
          Phone: (814) 732-1259 
          Email: tamitchell@edinboro.edu

          Andrew Matt, JD 
          Title IX Coordinator & Investigator
          Office: Reeder Hall, 3rd Floor
          Phone: (814) 732-1564
          Email: amatt@edinboro.edu

          Jordan McMillan
          Administrative Support
          Office: Reeder Hall, 308
          Phone: (814) 732-1250
          Email: jgass@edinboro.edu

          Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 3.27.33 PM




          Diversity Commission

          The Diversity Commission at Edinboro University initiates campus-wide programs that advance the institution's diversity and awareness.


          Diversity Inclusion Statement

          In accordance with the PASSHE Non-Discrimination Statement, Edinboro University will promote an inclusive culture that supports the academic, cultural, and personal growth of all members of the University community. Edinboro University values the richness of diversity and believes that the intentional recruitment, retention, and accommodation of individuals who differ and are similar will broaden and deepen the educational experience and the scholarly environment. By respecting pluralistic perceptions, and continuously assessing and monitoring the campuses and community environments, the Edinboro University community will foster open communication as students, faculty, staff and community learn to interact effectively with one another, creating and sustaining a supportive and respectful climate.

          Commission Purpose

          The Commission will work collaboratively across disciplines, departments and student groups to advance diversity as an institutional and educational imperative. They will participate in the implementation of selected aspects of the University’s Strategic Diversity Plan, in collaboration with the Director of Social Equity and recommend initiatives that have a campus-wide impact on the educational value of diversity. The Commission will prepare an annual report to the Office of the President containing outcomes of the Commission’s deliberations and its work and offering recommendations for the President’s consideration.

          Advisory Role

          The Commission shall function as an advisor to the President and the Director of Social Equity regarding initiatives, procedures, and policies on campus climate and culture to foster an involvement that values diversity, inclusiveness and multiculturalism. The Commission shall also have an active role in campus diversity initiatives.


          • Identify and recommend procedures to correct identified inequities based on protected class that may exist in employment, academic, student life, or business situations;
          • Periodically review the status of underrepresented individuals, including assessment and monitoring of the campus climate for these populations, and to make recommendations to achieve inclusiveness;
          • Provide recommendations for special efforts and strategies to recruit and retain a diverse work force and student population;
          • Assist in the development and implementation of programs to address the needs, interests, and concerns of underrepresented groups that may exist in employment, academic, student life, or business situations;
          • Assist in the review and/or development of academic programs and curriculum that embody diversity and multiculturalism;
          • Assist in the preparation of an annual status report so that disparate trends can be identified and addressed for future action.

          University Diversity Commission
          Dearborn Hall, 270
          205 Darrow Road Edinboro, PA 16444

          Chair – Denise Manjarrez
          Vice Chair – Dr. Qun Gu

          Dr. Heather Baron
          Kevon Bruce
          Dr. Adrienne Dixon
          Shari Gould
          Dr. Scott Miller
          George Morgan
          Ishra Musa
          Dr. George Richards
          Marissa Rodriguez
          Dr. Margaret Smith
          Dr. Steve Sullivan
          Angela Vincent

          Dr. Terrence Mitchell