Women’s Commission - Edinboro University

          Contact Info

          Office of Social Equity
          Reeder Hall, 3rd Floor
          219 Meadville Street
          Edinboro, PA  16444
          Phone: (814) 732-2167
          Fax: (814) 732-2153
          Email: equalopportunity@edinboro.edu

          Terrence A. Mitchell 
          Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer 
          Office: Reeder Hall 306 
          Phone: (814) 732-1259 
          Email: tamitchell@edinboro.edu

          Andrew Matt, JD 
          Title IX Coordinator & Investigator
          Office: Reeder Hall, 3rd Floor
          Phone: (814) 732-1564
          Email: amatt@edinboro.edu

          Jordan McMillan
          Administrative Support
          Office: Reeder Hall, 308
          Phone: (814) 732-1250
          Email: jgass@edinboro.edu

          Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 3.27.33 PM




          Women’s Commission

          The President's Commission on the Status of Women advances a University goal for women to be recognized equally and inclusively in a supportive environment.




          The President's Commission on the Status of Women acknowledges the unique challenges of women in a university setting and works to create an equitable, just, and supportive campus environment.


          Leadership, Education, Advocacy, Dialogue


          • To gather and analyze findings related to the perception of a just, supportive and equitable environment and make recommendations to the President.
          • To develop new and to support existing programs for current and prospective women faculty, staff and students of Edinboro University.
          • To increase awareness of the Commission for current and prospective faculty, staff and students through a variety of communication medium, including both campus and local media.
          • To provide mentoring opportunities to students and faculty who attend the Leadership Institute, as well as explore professional development activities for women who wish to move into campus leadership positions.

          Ongoing Projects

          • Awareness of Campus Climate for Women and Commission
          • Promote Undergraduate Women's Leadership Institute
          • Enhance relationships with local and national AAUW
          • Continue review of gender equity among faculty and staff
          • Plan professional and leadership development events for faculty, staff and students
          • Support student projects developed in Undergraduate Women's Leadership Institute
          • Support and participate in Women's History Month
          • Coordinate annual Women Student Leadership Development Conference "Passport to Leadership" every spring

          Opportunities for Involvement

          McKeever Undergraduate Institute for Women

          McKeever Undergraduate Women's Leadership Institute brings together about 50 women students, faculty and staff from all 14 PASSHE Universities. The goals of the Institute are to develop and strengthen women's leadership skills to increase the involvement of women students as leaders to develop a supportive network of women throughout the state system and to help students develop campus projects to share skills learned at the institute. The curriculum includes workshops, guest speakers, recreation and team-building exercises to foster self-discovery and skill building. Students are encouraged to apply in March for the Institute, which occurs every June.

          "Passport to Leadership"

          The Women Student Leadership Development Conference occurs every spring semester to provide female students with the opportunity to network with professional women and alumni in a variety of career fields, and to develop their leadership skills in preparation for continuing their education or pursuing their career goals.

          Commission Members

          Chair: Dr. Irene Fiala
          Vice Chair: Dr. Molly Wolf
          Treasurer: Josette Skobieranda-Dau
          Secretary: Dr. Stacy Dunn

          Ex-Officio Members
          Dr. Terrence Mitchell

          For more information, please contact:

          Commission Chair
          Dr. Irene Fiala
          Email: ifiala@edinboro.edu
          Phone: 814-732-2402